Overnight Cinnamon Rolls, Take 2

I have a little writer’s block. Well, I’m not much of a writer, so I guess it’s really total blockage. I have 3 or 4 posts waiting to be written, but I can’t seem to make them interesting. I want to give my readers something other than a pretty picture (if I’m lucky anyway) and a recipe. You want substance, not just surface, right? I know I do.

the many faces of sophie
Speaking of pretty pictures 🙂

I got an email via Facebook from my instructor this weekend. He was asking how GB and I were doing. How nice was that? I’ve actually been meaning to contact him to find out about the final exam I missed. I don’t even know what I need to review before I take it! I’m so glad he’s being so flexible about it. He also asked if I was going to be interested in attending this fall. Um, I think I’ll wait. I’m not sure how hubby will handle a 3 year old and a 5/6 month old by himself. Yes, it’d only be one night a week, but the two of us together can barely make it sometimes.

Weekday mornings around here can be crazy. We don’t usually have to set our alarm because MC’s out of his bed and in ours waking us up before it goes off. But somehow we’re still rushing around trying to get everyone out the door. I try to make some breakfast and then pack MC’s lunch and get him dressed while hubby gets ready.

The weekends are another story. We can slow down a little bit, maybe enjoy a nice breakfast together. Hubby can get up with MC and I can lay in bed for just a little longer, or until GB requires my attention. On mornings like that, these Overnight Cinnamon Rolls are great. Everything is prepped the night before (when the little’uns are asleep). Just give the rolls a little alone time in the morning, then bake ’em and glaze ’em.

090709.2 ab cinn roll

This version is from Alton Brown.  (Have I ever professed my love for Alton on here???  I think he’s informative, fun and quirky.) I asked hubby what he thought of these cinnamon rolls and his response was, “I can’t find anything wrong with them.”  To me that means, they’re good, but not great. And I’d have to agree. They are better than the other ones I made, but they still don’t have that soft, fluffy, cinnamony, sweet and sticky Cinnabon-ness. Sorry Alton, I’m not sure I’d make these again.  But I still love you.  I think my next attempt will be this recipe I found on King Arthur Flour’s site.  If anyone has tried these, let me know.

090709.4 ab cinn roll

I decided to go with a glaze instead of the cream cheese icing Alton suggested.  I just mixed together a little milk and some powdered sugar until I got the consistency I wanted.  It was easier, plus I didn’t have any cream cheese – ACK! 

I didn’t change any proportions or ingredients (wait, except the buttermilk – I didn’t have any, so I used the vinegar/milk trick, oh, and I did have to add a bit more flour due to the dang humidity – what’s up with that Texas???), so no recipe here.  Just go to the Food Network site. And speaking of the Food Network…has anyone seen this?  I just ran across it the other day and laughed my ass off! Check out the Host Bios…I bet you’ll get a few good chuckles.

signature

6 Responses

  1. They look scrumptious!

  2. i do prefer a cream cheese frosting, but i’ll take whatever i can get when it comes to cinnamon rolls! good ol’ alton brown—the man knows his stuff.

  3. Too bad they weren’t exactly what you’d hoped for… but they sure look delicious!! 😀

Leave a Reply

