Chocolate White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Alternate Title: “Use Good Cocoa Powder”

These cookies came to be because I wanted something sweet, something easy to bake and something with chocolate. I knew that if I was going to make a chocolate cookie, I wanted to use white chocolate to offset the color, as well as complement the flavor.

chocolate white chocolate chip cookie

Beh. That’s all I have to say about these cookies. Beh. Not my favorite for sure. MC ate it up, but he’ll basically eat anything with sugar. Hubby thought it reminded him of a brownie in cookie form. Sure, the texture was there and the white chocolate was great. But, I think the cocoa powder I used is what made this cookie “meh” for me.

I usually buy Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa Powder. But, last time I bought some Nestle Tollhouse Cocoa Powder. (These are really the only two easily available to me, without purchasing online or paying out the wazoo.) I don’t think I’ll be making that purchase again. The flavor of the Nestle cocoa powder was somewhat bland and the color was not as deep and rich as the Special Dark.

chocolate white chocolate chip cookie

Next time I’ll use the good stuff.  🙂  In defense of the original recipe, it did say to use dutch processed cocoa powder.

Chocolate White Chocolate Chip Cookies
Yield: 20 cookies
Adapted from Joy of Baking
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
1 cup all purpose flour
¼ cup cocoa powder
½ teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature
½ cup light brown sugar
¼ cup sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 ½ cups white chocolate chips
2 oz white chocolate, chopped

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, sift the cocoa powder, flour, baking powder, and salt.

In your mixer bowl, cream the butter and sugars until light and fluffy (2-3 minutes). Add the egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated. Add the flour mixture and beat until incorporated. Stir in the white chocolate chips.

Using a small cookie scoop or two spoons, place about 1 ½ tablespoons of batter on the prepared baking sheet, spacing about 2 inches apart. Top each cookie with a chunk of white chocolate.

Bake for approximately 8-9 minutes or until the cookies are still soft in the center but are firm around the edges. Remove from oven and let cookies cool on baking sheet for about 5 minutes before removing the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

signature

2 Responses

  1. I don’t know if I can make it through the rest of the day without these cookies. And I just had an ice cream cone. Don’t tell. 🙂 Seriously, these are next on my cookie list. Maybe I’ll make them with red and blue m and ms for the fourth.

  2. excellent. white chocolate is all too often overshadowed by its darker cousin. my favorite part about these is the massive hunk right on top–nice touch!

Leave a Reply

