Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Thanks to the 11 of you who voted in my poll. 🙂 I ended up making a Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake that turned out fabulous. I even did something I probably shouldn’t have done and used a new-to-me Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe. It’s out of a cookbook I’ve had for almost two years now (The Secrets of Baking) and finally got around to trying the cookie recipe.

chocolate chip cookie cake

Whenever we go to the in-laws I always bring them leftover goodies, or make something to specifically take to them. Everyone in the family has a sweet tooth and love the fact that I bring anything at all. For Father’s Day I wanted to do something kind of special and different so the cookie cake won out. My original thought was something you see at the mall, like at Great American Cookies.  But I didn’t have a pan big enough and didn’t want to go out and buy something just for this.  So I went with a “layered” cookie cake. 

chocolate chip cookie cake

The recipe from The Secrets of Baking was the perfect size to make two rounds.  I divided the dough among the two pans and flattened them out with my hands.  I baked them for just a little bit longer than the original called for and they came out great.

chocolate chip cookie cake

It doesn’t matter which way you layer the cookies.  Just make sure the top one is “top” up, so you can tell it looks like a big chocolate chip cookie.  I just used store bought chocolate frosting and smeared a thin layer in between the two cookies.  I wanted to pipe a line around the outside between the two cookies, but the frosting was too loose, so I ended up just frosting the entire thing. The top looked a bit bare, so I piped some stars around the edges too. You could always make your own.  I almost went with a white chocolate cream cheese frosting, but I barely had time or energy to get this cake made!

chocolate chip cookie cake
my nephew’s finger – he really wanted the frosting

I ended up taking this cake, the Strawberry Cheese Pie and some homemade hamburger buns (I’ll post about these in the future, after I’ve perfected them) with us.  Everyone loved them. 🙂

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake
Adapted from The Secrets of Baking
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
1 ½ cups all purpose flour
½ teaspoon baking soda
¼ pound cold unsalted butter, cut into ½ inch pieces
½ cup + 2 tablespoons sugar
½ cup + 2 tablespoons light brown sugar
¼ teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg
8 ounces chocolate chips/chunks

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350F. Spray two 8 or 9 inch round cake pans; set aside.

In a medium bowl sift or whisk the flour and baking soda; set aside.

Cream butter until pale yellow, about 2 minutes. Add sugar, brown sugar, salt and vanilla. Cream the mixture until smooth.

Add egg and beat on low until fully incorporated. Do not overbeat.

Add flour mixture and beat until just incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips or chunks.

Divide the dough between the two cake pans. Pat into the cake pans and bake for approximately 15-18 minutes.

Allow cookie cakes to cool completely before decorating.

signature

10 Responses

  1. this gal is speechless. suffice to say that this creation is all kinds of awesome, and i wouldn’t mind having it as my next birthday cake. very clever.

  2. what a great idea! cookie cake must be delicious! 🙂

  3. Looks absolutely delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  4. What a fun idea! I might try making something like this using a recipe I have that is adapted to make larger cookies…it might be just the thing for the leftover buttercream in my fridge!

  5. what a great idea! i’m bookmarkin’ this baby for future use!

  6. That cake is AMAZING! What a terrific idea. I can see doing this with smaller cookies, too, but only to keep my hips from their ever-expanding course ; )

  7. Wow! This looks great! The dough looks really yummy!

  8. My friend and I just made it! It looks FANTASTIC and DELICIOUS! We put a layer of chocolate chips on one of them to make a chocolate center. Yum. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!!

    P.S. It’s good and really hot. Don’t eat 350 degree chocolate. It burns.

Leave a comment