Lemon-Lime Poppy Seed Mini Muffins

Alternate Title: “What to make at 6am when you’ve been up since 4am with a one-month old that doesn’t want to go back to sleep”.

lemon-lime poppy seed mini muffins

Coffee and I have been BFFs lately.  Along with my couch for quick naps, if possible – because sometimes, as much as I’d like to get some shut eye, it just doesn’t happen.  Blame it on the caffeine, blame it on my extreme desire to sleep, causing me not to be able to sleep.  Who knows.

lemon-lime poppy seed mini muffins

So, while I was up, why not bake up something yummy for breakfast?  Only problem, I was a bit low on supplies. I just can’t get motivated take a newborn along on a grocery trip. Sure, I can stick her in the sling, or take along a bulky carrier, but when GB’s awake, forget about it.  She’s a squirmer and the sling doesn’t give her much room to stretch or squirm.  And she’d rather be held than sit in a carseat or carrier. The best time to make grocery runs is on the weekends when MC’s taking a nap and hubby can watch GB. 

lemon-lime poppy seed mini muffins

So, about these muffins. I had a jar of poppy seeds for just such occasions.  You know, when you want to bake something, but you have to scour the pantry to come up with something good.  But, I didn’t have any lemons.  I did have some limes and lemon extract.  Why not combine the two?  I only used the zest of the lime, but next time I plan on incorporating the juice as well.  I’d also suggest adding more than ½ teasoon of lemon extract – or if you have it, use the lemon zest and juice.  I only used ½ cup of sugar because I like my muffins and quick breads on the less sweet side.

Lemon-Lime Poppy Seed Mini Muffins
Yield: 24 mini muffins
Adapted from Joy of Cooking
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon poppy seeds
2 large eggs
1 cup sour cream
½ cup sugar
2 tablespoons butter, melted
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
½ teaspoon lemon extract
zest of one small lime

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400F. Grease a mini-muffin tin or line with paper liners.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and poppy seeds.

In a separate bowl whisk together the remaining ingredients.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix together with a few light strokes, just to combine.

Fill each cup about ¾ full.

Bake for 9-10 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the muffins comes out clean.

signature

8 Responses

  1. these look so good!

  2. if you can’t be asleep at 4 in the morning, why not cook up something fabulous? the texture looks perfect–way to make good use of your time. 🙂

  3. What a perfect airy batter. i want a piece!

  4. i feel like a schmuck. someone left a comment for me – i think on this post – and it was deleted with the spam! i feel so bad. if it was you, please please please re-post. i’d love to hear from you!

  5. Is it just me or did you not include poppy seeds in the recipe ingredients?

    • You are quite right. I’ve edited the recipe to include the 1 tablespoon of poppy seeds I used. Thanks for catching that.

      • Thank you! I made these last night and they turned out pretty good except a little dry. The lime was a perfect addition for something a little different. Next time (oh, yes, there will be a next time) I plan to add a splash of milk. Delicious!

      • I’m glad you enjoyed them! You could probably add a little bit more butter as well. 😛 That always makes everything better.

Leave a Reply

