Classic Brownies

dorie's orig brownies

I love me some brownies.  They are all chocolate, so what’s not to love, right?  Admittedly, I’m not much for a brownie with nuts, so don’t expect to see any here.  If I’m adding anything to my brownies, it would be chocolate chips, marshmallows, candy bars or even graham crackers (I’ll have to remember to talk about those brownies at a later date).

This past holiday season we baked up pan after pan of brownies at the bakery. I think we were all fake baked from sifting so much cocoa powder! The brownies we made were good, but not necessarily my favorite (they were pretty good frozen, though). Aside from having walnuts, the texture was too fudgy and the it was missing something in regards to the flavor. Maybe because it was made with all cocoa powder? I’m not sure.

So now I’m trying out all sorts of different brownie recipes to see which one I like the best.

Today’s brownie comes from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking From My Home To Yours cookbook – which was one of the two new cookbooks I received from my wonderful hubby (and children) for Mother’s Day this year.  🙂 Dorie gives us multiple brownie recipes, but I decided to stick to just the plain old classic brownie.  I want something that can stand on its own, but also be fantastic with other ingredients mixed in. The recipe also states to cut into 16 brownies – which makes them less than two inches square.  Um, if I’m eating a brownie, I want a BROWNIE.  My adaptation makes 9 brownies. 

dorie's orig brownies

I was very happy to see that she recommends adding instant espresso powder to the brownie batter.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE adding coffee/espresso to anything I make that has chocolate in it, even my chocolate chip cookies.  The coffee flavor isn’t predominant, but it makes the chocolate even more chocolatey.  I added the instant coffee granules to the butter and chocolate mixture so they’d dissolve better and also replaced the walnuts with mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. 

I’m not sure if these are my favorite brownies, as I have many more recipes to try out.  😉  But, they are definitely worth making again and possibly try out different flavor combinations with.

Classic Brownies
Yield: 9 – 2 ½ inch brownies
Adapted from Baking From My Home To Yours (Dorie Greenspan)
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into 5 pieces
4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips (or approximately 2/3 cup)
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
½ teaspoon instant coffee
¾ cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
¼ teaspoon salt
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line an 8-inch square baking pan with foil, spray the foil with non-stick spray.

Set a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. Put the butter in the bowl, top with the chocolates and instant coffee and stir occasionally until the ingredients are just melted – you don’t want them to get so hot that the butter separates. Remove the bowl from the pan of water.

With a whisk, stir in the sugar. Don’t be concerned when your mixture turns grainy. Whisk in the eggs, one by one. Add the vanilla, then fold in the chocolate chips with a spatula.

Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth the top with the spatula.

Bake the brownies for 30 to 33 minutes, or until the top is dull and a thin knife inserted into the center comes out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool the brownies to room temperature.

signature

14 Responses

  1. oh I m drooling . these are so chocoholic s dream 🙂

  2. i love the brownie experiment and i’m 100% w/you on the idea of adding espresso to boost the flavor in a recipe. classic brownies i always hear about are ina’s, baker’s one bowl, cook’s illustrated. i wonder what torres and martha have done too?

  3. Thank you for commenting on my mochi cake post 🙂 I am enjoying your brownie series as I have become dissatisfied with my own recipe and am on the prowl for a new one.

  4. boy-o, susan, those are some dense and delectable brownies! i’d say that one bite would probably satisfy my chocolate hunger, but that’d be a flat-out lie. 🙂

  5. Great brownies! These are the next I’m going to try in my quest for the ultimate brownie recipe!

  6. I love these brownies! I was just talking to someone today about how brownies should not be called bar cookies, they are a class of themselves!

  7. mm brownies. They are the classic American chocolate desserts. I could eat the whole thing!

  8. […] Dorie. I’m slowly making my way through this book anyway. Ok, so I’ve only made two other things from the book, but somehow I keep drifting back to […]

Leave a Reply

