Sugar, Sugar and More Sugar

So…I had my glucose tolerance test today.  Let’s just say, I did not pass with flying colors.  Which means I have to go back next week and take a 3 hour test (they take my blood, give me the nasty orange drink, take my blood an hour later, another hour later then another hour later).  I went through this with my first pregnancy and it turned out fine.  However, I don’t remember what my level was the first time around.  This time it was 50 points higher than the cutoff.  I wonder if eating ice cream around 9pm last night had something to do with it.  I was supposed to fast – no food after 8 and no liquid after midnight.  Oops.  They forgot to mention that when I made the appointment and how’s a person supposed to remember something like that from 3 years ago?  😛  Anyway, I’m trying not to worry about it, but I think I’ll lay off the sweet stuff for the week, just to help my chances.  My motto has always been “everything in moderation”, so having to be on a restricted diet for the rest of the pregnancy (3 more months!) would kill me.  Haha, ok, I’d do anything to keep myself and BG healthy, but UGH.  No thank you.

Let me just leave you with this sweetness.  This picture was taken a few weeks ago at my in-laws.  I had my nephew on my lap and MC decided he wanted to hold him on his lap. This gives me hope that he will get along just fine with BG.  🙂
on my lap 
(photo taken with my iphone)

One Response

  1. adorable. interesting note–i often have that very same expression on my face. 🙂

Leave a Reply

