Just Some Randomness

My local Kroger had blueberries and strawberries on sale this week, so of course I had to get some.  I ended up making some blueberry scones, but I’m going to have to work on the recipe a bit more before I post it.  I’m still trying to figure out what to do with my strawberries.  I already have some sliced up to put on top of my ice cream this evening (no, I don’t eat ice cream everything night!), but I still have some left to tinker with.  Any suggestions?  I may have to peruse foodgawker to get some ideas. 

I’m sure I’ve mentioned the blog Simmer Till Done on here before. If you haven’t checked it out, you should.  I came across Marilyn’s “Two-Bite Jam Tarts” post the other day and I knew I had to try it out.  I loved the cream cheese dough! It came out soft and moist, yet crispy all at the same time.  I think they need to be re-named to “Bite-size”, but then again, I do have a big mouth.  😉  I even tried making a larger version with blackberry jam.  Oh so good!

Last Tuesday was the second day of my Fundamentals of Baking class.  We were supposed to have a lecture and discuss the chapter we read (ok, I read it before I went to class), but ended up baking for a charity luncheon instead.  The instructor prefaced it with the fact that he normally wouldn’t let us into the kitchen for a few weeks, but because the luncheon was tomorrow, blah blah, yadda yadda, it would make the school and the department some money, so we could have more supplies, yadda yadda.  Um, I pay extra every semester for “Culinary Arts” supplies.  Where’s that money going exactly?  I mean, I know they’re trying to fix the restaurant/kitchen up for the CA program, but he needs to stop making these events priority over our education.  I can’t make something nice, if I don’t understand how to do it.  You know?  So, we’ll see how tomorrow goes. 

One interesting thing I learned through reading my book, shortening is called shortening because it shortens the gluten strands.  Isn’t that neat?  😛  It was something new to me and something I don’t think I actually really ever though about before.  Cool. 

I’m off to relax for a few…

2 Responses

  1. blueberries and strawberries on sale? i wish that were the case here! and wait–is eating ice cream nightly a bad thing? 🙂

  2. Haha, Grace, no, eating ice cream nightly is not a bad thing. But, now that I have a glucose tolerance test to pass, I may need to cut down on that a bit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

