Buttermilk Waffles

Buttermilk Waffles

My son loves breakfast.  I love breakfast.  Hubby likes it, but MC and I can definitely put it away in the morning.  I don’t have time during the week to make anything, so I make pancakes, waffles, cinnamon rolls, etc on the weekends, then freeze or refrigerate them for easy access during the week. 

I always seem to have a problem with keeping my waffles crispy, so  I actually prefer eating them after they’ve been frozen.  I just pop one in the toaster oven and off I go.  I’ve tried putting them in a low oven, but even that doesn’t seem to work for me.  If anyone has any pointers or suggestions I’d love to hear them.

The recipe I used was based on this pancake recipe (a total flop of a pancake for me, and I mean literally, they were flat!) and the recipe out of my Joy of Cooking.  These came out light, fluffy and crispy (after a little toasting).  I served them with some carmelized bananas and maple syrup.

Buttermilk Waffles
Yield: approximately 8 waffles
Inspired by Joy of Cooking & Aida Mollenkamp’s Cakey Buttermilk Pancakes
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
1 ¼ cups buttermilk
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
2 large eggs
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla

In a medium bowl, whisk together all ingredients until evenly combined and moistened thoroughly (some small lumps will remain). Set mixture aside to rest while the waffle iron heats up.

Pour approximately 1/3 to ½ cup of batter into the waffle iron. These puff up, so do not completely fill the waffle iron with batter. Remove as indicated by your iron or when the waffles are lightly brown and crispy.

Buttermilk Waffle w/bananas
serving suggestion – topped with carmelized bananas

signature

3 Responses

  1. i like your serving suggestion (and your waffles in general)–the nanners look luscious.

  2. To get crispier waffles, you need to add a fair amount of fat. And leaving them in the iron until they get really brown helps too. 🙂 I love ’em crispy.

  3. Thanks Grace. The bananas were delicious btw. 🙂

    Virginie, Thanks for the advice. I’ve tried adding almost a stick of butter to my batter and still had issues.

Leave a Reply

