No, I Haven’t Fallen Off The Face Of The Earth

I think I’ve started and re-started this post a bajillion times now. I’ve also been thinking alot about what type of blog I want to maintain. I don’t want separate ones for “me” and for food, especially now that they are more intertwined than before. I think my main problem is actually keeping up with it. I was doing well when I had a desk job. 😉 I could spend my “break time” online and working on posts. Now my break time consists of scarfing down some lunch and heading back into the kitchen. Which, I don’t mind, it just forces me to use some of my at home time on the computer.

I’ve actually been doing something these past few months, I promise. 🙂 Let’s see…since the last post Thanksgiving came and went. We visited my family in Kansas and I found out two of my girlfriends from back home, who are sisters, are both pregnant. We’re all about 4 weeks apart from each other! My mom told my sister not to drink the water. Haha!

Christmas came and went. I made a pumpkin cheesecake with an awesome graham cracker and pecan crust that I took to the in-laws. MC’s teachers received a tray full of goodies this year: red & green sprinkled sugar cookies, dark chocolate covered pretzels, chewy cocoa brownies, ginger molasses cookies and chocolate peanut butter squares. Man, when I was making those pb squares I just about licked the bowl clean they were so good!

There’s a lot that has happened in the past few months that I wanted to blog about, but never got around to. I quit my job at the “mass production” bakery and now work at a much smaller local bakery/cafe and I love it. I started working there about a week or so before Thanksgiving and I’m so glad I did. One day here is different than the next. I’m not baking up sheets and sheets and layers and layers of cakes every day. Some days I’m making pies, other days brownies, most days some sort of soup (for their lunch business), sometimes bundt cakes or muffins. Although, when Christmas rolled around, it was brownie central in there. They do a huge mail order business around Christmas. Everyone wants brownies shipped to friends, family and co-workers. I’m actually not a huge fan of their brownies. But I must say, the best way to eat these are frozen with ice cream. OMG! Baby Girl (BG) loves it too.

Speaking of BG…this girl moves around in utero way more than her brother did. At least from what I can remember. I’ve slept alot since then. 😉 But seriously. At 9pm all I want to do is sit on the couch and relax for a little bit. But, noooo…she wants to have a dance party in my belly!

And then there’s school. I completed my Basic Food Prep class with an A, but that was to be expected. We had an open book final, which I finished in 30 minutes, because I actually studied the guides, that the questions came directly from. So…yeah. Anyway. I’m hoping my Fundamentals of Baking class (5:30pm-10:00pm on Tuesday nights) is structured better and I that I learn more. Otherwise, I’m going to wait until they get their act together a little better. I’ve already talked to the instructor about possibly having to take the final early or late due to extenuating circumstances AKA giving birth. Heehee.

I don’t know if anyone is even still reading this blog, but if you are, thanks for sticking around. I promise to work on more content and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to at least do 1 or 2 posts a week. There are currently a couple rattling around in this noggin of mine. Be on the look out for some Buttermilk Waffles and Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies.

3 Responses

  1. thanks for the update! sounds like your life is moving along quite nicely. 🙂

  2. Don’t be too hard on yourself about your blog, what it should or shouldn’t be and how much time you can devote to it (at any given moment). Do it for you, because you enjoy it and have something to share, say or document. I enjoyed reading this post—it reminds me a little of how I first felt when I began blogging in the fall of ’07.

  3. Grace, I’m not doing too shabby. Just waiting for Baby Girl to make her way into this world.

    Sandie, thanks for the advice. I’m just trying to figure out a few things before my life changes for the second time. 😉

Leave a Reply

