Manual Labor

Seriously…that’s what I feel like I’m doing.  At least compared to what I have been doing.  I was on my feet for 10 hours on Saturday, in the midst of Ike and the threat of losing power.

I’m not saying it’s all bad, but when your day starts at 6 am, you are doing it ALL BY YOURSELF and you don’t get a chance to stop and sit down and eat until 12:30pm and all you really want to do is crawl back in bed, well…that’s not good. 

Georgia, the lady that usually does the cookies and cream pies had the day off on Saturday.  So, instead of the bakery manager taking her place, she tells Darlene, the lady working with me, training me, whatever, to take over that station.  The cookie station has a helper (Daisy), but she doesn’t really speak English, so Linda (the bakery manager) doesn’t feel like she can work well with Daisy and she doesn’t want Linda L (the owner’s sister) to bitch about the work she did.  Linda does alot of the cake decorating, not much of the other stuff. But how smart was it to leave the new girl alone to do everything?

Everything being: 1) 4 fruit pies 2) dozen pecan pies 3) 7 different types of bars – these take up my time because I usually have to cut the cakes in half, fill them, frost them and top them 4) bake a dozen cheesecakes – Linda did help put the sour cream topping on after they came out of the oven, woofreakinghoo 5) decorate 5 cheesecakes – 3 of which were rainbows, which means I had to slice kiwis & strawberries 5) 4 wedding cake rounds 6) 30 sheet cakes – which means three 50lb bags of cake mix

There were 3 cake decorators there Saturday morning (2 plus Linda) and they were out the door by noon.  WTH?  Linda could have let those two do the cakes, especially since Ike was on his way and no one was really worried about cakes, and she could have come help me or something.  Darlene was nice enough to stay for a little while and help me with the cakes – well, man the ovens anyway. I was elbow deep in chocolate cake batter, so it’s not easy going back and forth between the ovens and the batter.  When they were all finally in the oven, I told her she could go.

Then Hubby texts me and says we have no power.  10 minutes later the bakery has no power – I had one sheet cake left in the oven!  But, one minute later, the power’s back.  Whew!  I took that puppy out and ran for the hills.  And had to call the bakery and ask someone to clock me out because I’d forgotten to.  Hahaha. 

As I was driving home, I noticed there were barely any cars on the street.  Half of the traffic lights were out and there were limbs in the road.  Luckily that was the extent of the damage in our area.

I don’t want to leave you with thoughts of sadness, so I’ll leave you with these instead: Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk Bars.  They were really good and not too sweet.  I made them specifically for my sweetie.  🙂  No, I didn’t make them Saturday after work.  I’m not totally crazy – no power either, remember?  I made them the week before, after my sweetie mentioned that he was missing my sweets.  True, I’ve been tired and sore and worn out. But, I did want to bake something and I am a sucker for my boys.  I made something simple and easy and guess what, I had everything in my pantry.  I love doing that.  Just grabbing what I have and coming up with a nice treat.

oatmeal chocolate chunk bars

oatmeal chocolate chunk bars

oatmeal chocolate chunk bars

Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk Bars
Yield: 16
Adapted from Quaker Oats Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
½ cup butter, room temperature
½ cup light brown sugar, packed
¼ cup granulated sugar
1 egg
½ teaspoon vanilla
¼ cup whole wheat flour
½ cup all purpose flour
½ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
1 ½ cups quick oats
½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350F.

Combine flours, baking soda and salt; set aside.

Beat together butter and sugars until creamy.

Add egg & vanilla; beat well.

Add flour mixture; mix well.

Stir in oats & chocolate chunks.

Pour mixture into an ungreased 8×8 metal baking pan.

Bake for 25-30 minutes.

2 Responses

  1. My tongue’s dragging on the ground in exhaustion just thinking about that day. Unbelievable…

    But yep. Those chewy chunky bars are looking gorgeous.

  2. Those look wonderful but sheesh your day! I feel like I’m getting a real behind the scenes peek and it sounds like loads of hard work. Put up your feet and take a break!

Leave a Reply

