Basic Food Prep, Week 4

One of my pet peeves is when people don’t take things seriously…that need to be taken seriously.  I paid good money to be in this class and to learn what the chef has to teach me.  Not to listen to Heather complain that she doesn’t like alot of foods or for Wanda to stick her tongue out behind the chef’s back or to hear her tell him that she’s going to have to drop his class because he gave us a pop quiz. Admittedly, I didn’t really study up on what we were quizzed on – parts of the knife, different alloys used to make knifes & vegetable cuts.  Luckily, he’s giving us a second chance this week. I think it finally dawned on me that yes, I’m in school again, and I actually have to put some effort into what we’re doing. But when I’m in class, I’m paying attention and listening and asking questions, even if I’m half asleep on my feet.  It just really really irks me when people don’t give him respect or take things seriously. 

This past week, along with the pop quiz, we made braised beef, grilled asparagus w/hollandaise sauce & mozzarella sticks.  We made the mozzarella sticks to review the proper breading technique.  The braised beef was to review the method of browning the meat, then cooking it in the oven on a low temperature.  The grilled asparagus showed us how to blanch and shock the asparagus to keep it’s crispness and color.  The hollandaise sauce, well, that didn’t turn out so well. I didn’t watch to see how they made it since I was working on the cheese and beef.  Shanna and Wanda were working on that and Shanna was determined to keep whisking that sauce until it thickened.  Unfortunately it never got to the correct consistency.  I’ve never tasted hollandaise sauce, so I was kind of looking forward to it.  Oh well, we’ll be trying that again soon.  The braised beef probably could have used another 30 minutes to an hour in the oven, but it was still good.  A little on the salty side, but good. 

Our lecture was about the Brigade System aka the kitchen hierarchy – executive chef, chef de cuisine, sous chef, etc.  Apparently it something that the other students are going over in another class as well, but we went ahead and discussed it in this class too. That’s just another thing that shows me how badly this department is in need of that new director that’s coming in.  It doesn’t seem like there’s a set curriculum for each class and it doesn’t seem like the instructors are even talking to each other.

Ok, enough about all that.  🙂  Let me leave you with this image of deliciousness. 

cinnamon bun bread
yummy brown sugar-cinnamony topping

cinnamon bun bread

This Cinnamon Bun Bread recipe came straight from Baking Bites. The only thing missing is the Icing, but it didn’t really need it…well, that and by the time I’d made this Friday night, it was already 10:30 and I had to be at work by 6am (that’s a whole post itself). This is by no means a substitute for the real thing. It has more of a cakey texture than a bread texture, but if you want the flavors of a cinnamon bun/roll, then this definitely works.

One Response

  1. very few things are as beautiful as baked brown sugar and cinnamon, and i’ll stand by that statement until i die. 🙂

Leave a Reply

