Course 1, Class 4 – last one!

* It’s been a crazy week – last cake decorating class, second week of food prep, last day of the job I’ve had for 8 years, my grandfather-in-law passing away. I’m doing a little back-blogging, so please bear with me. Thanks!

course 1, class 4

My roses look more like carnations, don’t they? I don’t think my frosting was exactly the right consistency and my bases were crooked. It took forever just to do those six roses. And that was after I’d smashed a few with my fingers and some of them took a head-dive into the table. 

course 1, class 4

Our last class was spent learning how to make ribbons, leaves and finishing our roses. Once we’d “mastered” those, we decorated our cakes. We had the option to decorate with a bow around some roses and a message or just put some roses on with leaves and dots. Guess you can figure out which way I went. Just like with the clown or flower cake, I had to keep practicing, so I put a small free-hand bow at the bottom of my cake. A bit out of place, but since this wasn’t being made for anyone, it didn’t matter. 

course 1, class 4

The instructor was asking if we were going to sign up for the next class and I told her there was no way I could do it next month. I’m starting a new job, taking a class and still have to run a family. J Besides, I’m not sure if I want to take the next class or not. It’s fun to learn, but am I really going to use it much? We’ll see…

4 Responses

  1. […] Course 1, Class 4 – last one! […]

  2. i definitely see roses and not carnations, and anyone who says otherwise is just jealous of your talents. i know i am. 🙂

  3. You’re so sweet Grace.

  4. […] Posted on Friday, August 29, 2008 by Susan * It’s been a crazy week – last cake decorating class, second week of food prep, last day of the job I’ve had for 8 years, my grandfather-in-law […]

Leave a Reply

