Chocolate Almond Biscotti

chocolate almond biscotti

I drink coffee every day.  Just one cup of half-caf with one splenda packet and milk.  (I’m not sure if Hubby knows it’s half-caf…guess he does now.) I like to enjoy my coffee with nothing else.  No muffins or donuts or scones.  Just my coffee.  So, when I saw that this month’s Cookie Carnivalcookie was Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti, I was excited because it was something I’d never made before, but a little disappointed because it was something I don’t usually eat. Oh well.  I was going to take a stab at it anyway, because that’s what this is all about, trying something new. 

Cookie Carnival is a monthly event hosted by Kate over at The Clean Plate Club.  Each month she selects a cookie that she wants to try and sends the recipe out to all the participants.  You can modify the recipe or make it as is.  And a roundup will be posted at the beginning of next month, for the current month.

chocolate almond biscotti
after first baking period

With all recipes, I couldn’t just follow it exactly.  😉  First of all, I’m not about to make 4 dozen biscotti cookies when I don’t think I’ll eat more than a handful, so I halved the recipe.  The hazelnuts were replaced with almonds, since I’m not a huge fan.  Mmmm, almonds.  I’m trying to incorporate whole wheat flour into my baked goods, just to see how it changes the flavors and textures, so I decided to go ahead and use it here as well.  I didn’t have any regular chocolate chips, so I substituted white chocolate chips. Which reminds me.  If I keep making things with what’s on hand, I’ll need to stock up again soon.  😉

chocolate almond biscotti
before going into the oven a second time

The biscotti turned out pretty good, well, the dozen or so that actually made it through the second baking period anyway.  It’s my fault really.  I cut one of the logs and went to transfer them to the baking sheet, but left the cutting board too close to the edge.  Tumble, crash, smash and pieces everywhere.  Argh. It was very disappointing to see my work go down the drain, but as Hubby puts it, there are going to be lots and lots of disasters in my kitchen career.  Thanks honey.  That really helped me get through it. 

chocolate almond biscotti

I ended up taking some to the in-laws this weekend and my fil, who honestly knows nothing about biscotti, commented on how it was good, but that he thought it’d go well with coffee in the morning, for dunking.  I smiled and told him that biscotti is usually enjoyed with a cup of tea of coffee. I’d say that makes it a success.  🙂

chocolate almond biscotti

Chocolate-Almond Biscotti
Yield: Approximately 2 dozen
Adapted from Bon Appétit, November 1999
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
¾ cup almonds (I used slivered)
1 cup all purpose flour
½ cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
½ cup butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, medium
¾ teaspoon vanilla extract
½ cup white chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a heavy large baking sheet with parchment paper.

Grind ¼ cup almonds in processor; set aside.

Whisk flours, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt in large bowl.

Beat butter and sugar in another large bowl until blended. Add eggs and vanilla extract and beat until well blended. Beat in flour mixture. Mix in ½ cup almonds, white chocolate chips and ¼ cup ground almonds.

Divide dough into 2 equal pieces. Shape each piece on baking sheet into 2 ½ inches wide by 7 inches long logs.

Place logs on prepared baking sheet, spacing 2 ½ inches apart (logs will spread during baking).

Bake until logs feel firm when tops are gently pressed, about 35 minutes.

Cool logs on baking sheet 15 minutes. Maintain oven temperature.

Using long wide spatula, transfer baked logs to cutting board. Using serrated knife cut warm logs crosswise into ½ inch thick slices. Arrange slices, cut side down, on 2 baking sheets.

Bake biscotti until firm, about 15 minutes.

Transfer to racks and cool completely.

8 Responses

  1. Oh, sweetie, I’m sorry to hear some of these beauties fell off the cutting board. But hubby is right – things like this one happens in the kitchen sometimes. Don’t be sad – these biscotti look wonderful!

  2. Thanks Patricia. I’ll keep it in mind.

  3. Kitchen disasters are not fun, but they happen to us all. On the bright side, it looks as if you made a batch of good biscotti!

  4. sorry about your biscotti loss, but the ones that survived look wonderful!

  5. What a success! Great job! Sorry about the loss of some, though!

  6. OMG these biscotti’s rocked!!! they were so simple to make and my family loved them!! thanks for the great recipe

Leave a Reply

