Happy Birthday Mister Cheeks!

And the search is over for now…

banana cupcakes w/white choco cc frost

My little guy turned two on Monday. I can’t believe it! It seems like just yesterday I was holding his skinny 5 pound body in my arms for the first time (he was 3 weeks early). He is just growing and learning and saying more and more every day. Yes, I lose my patience and yes, I get exasperated, but for the most part I think I’m doing alright by him. 🙂

DSC_1237
enjoying his cupcake. check out the frosting on his nose. adorable. 🙂

cupcake
and, this is how he got the frosting on his nose.

I decided on the banana cupcakes with white chocolate cream cheese frosting, with a few modifications. I quadrupled the recipe, and used 2 cups of whole wheat flour (I wanted to use white wheat, which I’ve seen recipes call for, but couldn’t find any in my store) and 4 cups of all purpose flour for the cupcakes. I also used butter and added the applesauce to the bananas instead of the butter/sugar mixture.  It helped with the consistency of the batter.  I personally could taste the whole wheat in the cupcakes, but they were still good.  One girl, an older sibling of one of MC’s friends, ate three (yes 3!) cupcakes.  And of course she’s active and skinny.  Darn that metabolism!

For the frosting, I only made one and a half batches (12 ounces white chocolate, 12 ounces cream cheese, 2 teaspoons of vanilla & 2-3 cups confectioners’ sugar) and it worked out perfectly.  I don’t like to use a ton of frosting on my cupcakes.

The cupcakes and the party were a hit.  I mean, how could the kids not have a good time here?

party

party

Previous Posts
Search For The Ultimate Birthday Cupcake, Part 1
Search For The Ultimate Birthday Cupcake, Part 2
Search For The Ultimate Birthday Cupcake, Part 3
Search For The Ultimate Birthday Cupcake, Part 4
4 Responses

  1. well if anyone deserves an awesome cupcake like that, it’s your cutie-patootie of a son. he’s adorable. 🙂

  2. Oh, what a sweet cupcake!

    I mean, your baked goods look nice too.

    But the face! Happy Birthday, little guy. What a sweet mom you have!

  3. Thanks guys! I think he’s pretty sweet & cute, too. 😉

  4. […] year he had banana cupcakes with white chocolate cream cheese frosting (check out that pipe job! […]

Leave a Reply

