Blueberry Banana Oatmeal Pancakes

Blueberry Banana Oatmeal Pancakes

I told you I saw pancakes in my future.  😉  But I didn’t want just any pancakes.  I had to have blueberry pancakes.  I also decided to try something a little “healthier”.  I know, we all love that word, don’t we?  Healthy.  What’s healthy anyway?  Can’t we just eat everything in moderation and be healthy?  What’s up with eating grains and oats and vegetables?  Ha.  I kid.  We can’t stuff ourselves with sugar, fat and salt all the time.  At least that’s what I’m trying to teach my almost 2 year old (2 next Monday!). 

I flipped through my Joy of Cooking to see if I could come up with something.  I have some buckwheat pancake mix in my pantry, but that was just a little too “healthy”.  I could have mixed that with a plain pancake batter, but it’s not what I was going for.  As I was flipping through the pancake section, I saw it.  Oatmeal Pancakes.  Of course.  Who doesn’t love a nice warm bowl of oatmeal now and then?  I know I do…however, not at this very-104 degrees-second.  But, put that in the form of a pancake and the whole family’s gobbling them up. 

You can see in the photos the pancakes come out fairly thin.  If you want a thicker pancake my suggestion is to use less liquid when making the oatmeal.  Also, I’d cook these at a lower temperature than a normal pancake and for just a tad longer and flip them over when you see the bubbles and the edges drying, like you normally would. 

Oh, another note.  There is no sugar in this recipe.  So if you just need the sugar, you can either put it in the oatmeal, or do what I did.  Just dust the tops with some confectioners’ sugar.  🙂  In my opinion the batter doesn’t need sugar.  The blueberries were so plump and sweet and with the confectioners sugar on top, it was just perfect.

Blueberry Banana Oatmeal Pancakes
ahhh, covered in a light dusting of powdered sugar

Blueberry Banana Oatmeal Pancakes
Yield: 9 to 10 pancakes using a 1/3 cup measuring cup
Inspired by Joy of Cooking
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
½ cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
2 eggs, beaten
1 ¼ cup cooked oatmeal (I used 1-minute oats)
¼ cup mashed banana
½ cup milk
2 tablespoons oil (I used canola)
¼ teaspoon lemon zest
1 cup blueberries
1 tablespoon oil or butter for griddle
Confectioners’ sugar for dusting

Directions:
Heat griddle to medium heat.

In a mixing bowl whisk the flour, baking powder and salt.

In a separate bowl combine the eggs, oatmeal, banana, milk, oil & lemon zest.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and combine. Do not overmix.

Fold the blueberries into the batter. My batter was fairly thin. If you want a thicker consistency you’ll want either more oatmeal or use less liquid when cooking your oatmeal.

Grease the griddle with a little oil or butter (no more than a tablespoon).

Ladle pancake batter onto griddle.

When bubbles start to show up and the edges of the pancake start to dry, flip the pancakes – approximately 3 to 5 minutes.

When the second side is brown, remove the pancakes from the griddle.

Dust the top of the pancakes with confectioner’s sugar. Enjoy!

12 Responses

  1. Yeah, I completely agree that buckwheat pancakes are a little bit too healthy. I did make some banana buckwheat pancakes not too long ago that were pretty good, but entirely healthy for sure. This combo is sounding mighty good. We’re pancake lovers around here… especially on Sunday mornings 🙂

  2. Hi Lori! We’re pancake lovers too…and waffles…and french toast…you see where I’m going. 🙂

  3. Yowza-Those look good and I’ve got company so I see pancakes in my future too. YOur cupcakes look so yummy, but I especially love those little hands in the photo. I kind of sort of made your Chinese dressing, except I didn’t have everything on hand. It was still so yummy! I thought I had everything, but my plum sauce looked old and iffy and I couldn’t find that piece of ginger. How many pieces of fresh ginger have I lost???? I wonder if they stay at the bottom of the grocery bag….

  4. pancakes make me so happy. thick, thin, berried, nutted, wheat, what-have-you–i love ’em all. i do, however, require quite a large pool of maple syrup… 🙂

  5. These look so fluffy! YUM!

  6. Erin, it was so funny because at first, my son just held the muffins while I took a picture – he even said “cheese”! But when I was done, he didn’t hesitate to eat them.
    I think my grocery bags eat jalapenos. 🙂

    Grace, I agree, just give me a pancake! My husband is like you – pass the syrup please.

    Patricia, thanks! They were just as good the second day.

  7. Oooh, pancakes with mashed banana in the batter?! Amazing, I think I need to get on this right away

  8. Hope you enjoy them Stephanie! 🙂

  9. […] breakfast, oatmeal, pancakes, recipe krissyrigo I found an awesome recipe on a blog called Slice of Sueshe for amazing blueberry banana oatmeal pancakes.  Basically, it incorporates three of my favorite […]

  10. […] blueberries. I know, I know, I’ve already given you blueberry pancakes, blueberry sauce, blueberry banana oatmeal pancakes, dos berry muffins and blueberry crumblies. But, I can’t help it. I am a lover of the […]

  11. Thank you for this great recipe! I googled ‘banana oatmeal pancakes’ and found yours, and happened to have blueberries on hand. I’m eating them right now and they’re delicious!

Leave a Reply

