Dos Berry Muffins

*Recipe has been edited to include the oil amount. Thanks Yvonne for finding that!

Dos Berry Muffins
now that’s a muffin – look at all those berries!

I told myself I had to buy some blueberries and strawberries before it was too late. I knew I’d regret it if I didn’t. I love berries with some plain or vanilla yogurt drizzled with honey and some granola (usually kashi go lean crunch).  But, I had a different idea for these berries…muffins, of course!  I’m obessed!  I even went to the library and picked up Muffins Galore (Catherine Atkinson) and Cupcakes Galore (Gail Wagman). So far I’m not really impressed with the Muffins Galore book.  Alot of the recipes use self-rising flour and superfine sugar.  I know you can make substitutions, but it just seems so inconvenient to convert.  Bah!  I haven’t read through Cupcakes Galore yet.  I’m sure you’ll know if something catches my fancy.  😉  Anyway, to continue with my obsession, I ended up making some blueberry & strawberry muffins…thus Dos Berry, or Deux Berry or Dool Berry (Korean).

You can see, I’m not the only one that wanted a bite of these muffins. MC was dying to get his hands on one. 🙂

Dos Berry Muffins
patiently (sort of) waiting until momma’s done taking pictures

I’m thinking blueberry pancakes need to be on the menu soon. Maybe with a strawberry coulis? Yum!

Dos Berry Muffins
MC helping me with the shot, “say cheese”


This post is being submitted to a bi-weekly baking event hosted by Ben at What’s Cooking. Go check it out and send him your baked goods!

Dos Berry Muffins
Adapted from Joy of Cooking
Yield: 6 jumbo muffins & 3 regular size muffins
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup sour cream (I used light)
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/3 cup oil (vegetable or canola)
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup blueberries
1 cup strawberries, choipped

Preheat oven to 375F. Line a jumbo & regular size muffin tin with paper liners. Fill the unused ones 1/3 full with warm water.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together.

In a separate mixing bowl whisk the eggs, sour cream, sugars, oil & vanilla together. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and combine. Do not over mix. Add the berries and fold in.

Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake for 22 to 25 minutes.

8 Responses

  1. Those muffins look scrumptious! Looks like your little helper would agree.:-)

  2. Thanks Alexa! They were indeed. And yes, my little helper ate two of the regular sized ones while making a jumbo mess on the floor. 😉

  3. blueberries make for some beautiful muffins, and you’ve done a lovely job of capturing that! 🙂

  4. Thank you Grace! I love blueberry muffins. Not, muffins with a couple blueberries, they must be packed full! 🙂

  5. Those are AMAZING. I’ve added then to my muffin list. LOVE the look of the number of berries. I’ll let you know when I make them, because I know I will. Found you over at Ben’s…

  6. They look amazing! I bought my ingredients, but while reading over directions, you say to add oil, but the amount isn’t included in the ingredients. How much did you use? Thanks!

  7. […] just happened to find Susan’s Dos Berries Muffins at A Slice of Sueshe while making my rounds last week. I found Susan at Ben’s What’s […]

  8. […] already given you blueberry pancakes, blueberry sauce, blueberry banana oatmeal pancakes, dos berry muffins and blueberry crumblies. But, I can’t help it. I am a lover of the […]

Leave a Reply

