Slow Cooker Love – BBQ Chicken

This past week is catching up to me hard.  After work, I picked MC from school, came home and made a few sides to go with dinner.  By the time I was done, which wasn’t even 30 minutes, I was exhausted.  MC was whining about something, Hubby was on the couch with his ankle propped up and I just didn’t want to be doing whatever it was I was doing, anymore.  I sat down to eat and MC started sticking his fork in his ear, so I took it away, after I’d asked him three times to stop. Two straight minutes of “MY FORK! MY FORK!” while bawling.  I had to laugh or I would cry.  I finally turned to him and told him to stop crying and that it wasn’t necessary to yell and that isn’t how we ask for things.  Then I get a “Peese?” I gave him the fork back, but he still didn’t use it to eat anything…*sigh*

I left the dishes in the sink – didn’t even bother, because there were clean dishes in the dishwasher I didn’t want to put away. I barely finished MC’s bath – Hubby had to take over for a few minutes.  But, thank the lord MC fell asleep fast last night, or I might have run out of the house screaming.

We sat down to watch Superhero Movie and I promptly fell asleep about 45 minutes into it.  So, I can’t tell you whether or not you should watch it, since I didn’t really see all of it.  But, from the 45 minutes I did see, it’d probably be an “eh”.  It’s your usual spoof on the comic movies (Spiderman) that have bombarded the public lately. Not that I don’t enjoy them. I was never really a comic book fan, but I love watching the enormous possibilities of the world on the screen.  😛  Does that even make sense?  I start imagining I’m Jean, or Jubilee and what I’d do with my powers, if I’d fight for good or evil, or hide it from everyone…but, I digress.

The good thing about last night?  Dinner was mostly ready by the time I got home…and it was good.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken
Servings: 2
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
1 small onion, diced
4-5 bone-in chicken thighs (mine were frozen)
1 bottle of barbeque sauce (I used Stubb’s Original Bar-B-Q sauce – my fav right now)
¼ – ½ cup chicken broth/stock

Place the onion in the bottom of the slow cooker. Place the thighs on top of the onion. Cover the chicken with barbeque sauce and chicken broth. (The liquid doesn’t have to cover the chicken. The chicken will release liquid since it is frozen and still has the skin on.) Cook on low for 8 hours.

Quick Oil & Vinegar Slaw
Printable Recipe

16 oz package of coleslaw mix
2 tablespoons oil (I used olive oil, but you could use vegetable)
2 tablespoons vinegar (I used apple cider, but you could use any kind)
1 tablespoon sugar
½ tablespoon honey
½ tablespoon celery seed (can omit if using celery salt)
1 teaspoon salt (can use celery salt)
pepper to taste

Whisk all the ingredients, except the coleslaw mix, until combined. Pour the dressing over the coleslaw mix and toss. Set aside or refrigerate for about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

