Search For The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie, Part 2

Thick & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
these are definitely thick

Finally, the second installment…

This time it’s a recipe from America’s Test Kitchen.  I found the recipe here, on the blog Good Things Catered. However, I changed it up a bit to suit my fancy.  😉 I didn’t use the “pull apart” technique.  I just used my trusty, handy dandy, small cookie scoop.  Call me anal, I like my cookies to all be the same size and look about the same.  I also added nuts and changed up the “chips”.

Thick & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Part 1 was Alton’s “The Chewy” which showcased 1 egg and 1 egg yolk, melted butter and a higher ratio of brown sugar to white sugar.  All the same components showed up in this recipe. By using my oh-so-highly-honed-skills-of-deduction, it seems this is what gives the cookies their chewy texture. 

They both hold their shape well and taste good, but there’s something about Alton’s recipe that just makes a better cookie.  Is it because I used my small cookie scoop instead of a bigger scoop (like the #20 disher Alton uses) that I got a more crispy exterior from the ATK cookie? Is it the bread flour? The milk? The extra butter?  Bah!

I guess I’ll have to keep looking and tweaking…

Thick & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Thick & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen, as found here, from Good Things Catered
Yield: 3 dozen
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
12 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted & cooled
1 cup brown sugar, packed
½ cup granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 yolk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks
½ cup white chocolate w/coconut
½ cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 325F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl whisk the flour, baking soda and salt.
Mix the butter and sugars, in a stand mixer, until thoroughly combined.
Beat in egg, yolk and vanilla.
Add the flour mixture and beat at low speed until just combined. Stir in chips and nuts.

Scoop out dough using a small cookie scoop. Place the balls about 2 inches apart. Bake for 15-17 minutes.

Cool cookies on sheets until they can be lifted without breaking. Place on wire rack to finish cooling.

Previous Posts
Search For The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie, Part 1

One Response

  1. […] Search For The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie, Part 2 […]

Leave a Reply

