Search For The Ultimate Birthday Cupcake, Part 3

Devil’s Food Cupcakes w/White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting
devil's food cupcake w/white chocolate cream cheese frosting

I’ve been on the hunt lately, can you tell? 😉

I’ve never been much of a frosting girl, it just seemed too sweet, too much, too…something. But, I always loved the cake. But then, I met the cream cheese frosting and the whipped cream frosting. I haven’t tried the whipped cream frosting yet. Not sure how to go about it, so I’m doing some research. If anyone has any tips or a good recipe, please let me know!

As for the cream cheese frosting, it’s a no brainer.  I’ve always been a fan of cream cheese – on my bagel, in cheesecake. One thing I’ve noticed about using cream cheese is that the full fat version is easier to handle than the low fat version. What I mean is, It just stiffens (haha) up better. Not that you want the frosting hard (geez), just firm enough to decorate with or so it doesn’t drip.  I found that refrigerating this particular frosting for about 15-20 minutes helped.

devil's food cupcake w/white chocolate cream cheese frosting
You’re thinking to yourself, where did she get those mad decorating skills? Ahahahaha!

In making a cream cheese frosting I’ve always used the butter, cream cheese, vanilla & confectioners’s sugar blend. But, as I was trying to come up with something that incorporated white chocolate, I came across this recipe from Culinate (out of Carole Bloom’s The Essential Baker). 

Being a novice baker I thought to myself, where’s the butter?  Then, I melted the white chocolate.  Ah ha!  I know that the properties of white chocolate are much different than actual chocolate (white chocolate is just sugar, milk and cocoa butter – contains no cocoa solids), but did not actually KNOW the difference until I saw it.  When the white chocolate melted (I ended up using Ghirardelli White Chocolate Chips – it’s what I had on hand), it was more of a solid melt than a liquid melt.  I wish I’d taken a picture to portray what I’m not explaining very well.

Exactly what am I trying to say?  MAKE THIS FROSTING!  If you like white chocolate and you like cream cheese, you will LOVE this frosting.  I LOVE this frosting.  It’s yumalicious! Seriously!  Hubby said it’s the best and his fav so far.  Yeah!

I think I may try this frosting with the banana cupcakes.  I think that may be a winning combo.  But don’t worry…I’m still searching for “the ultimate”.  🙂

 devils food cupcake devils food cupcake

Devil’s Food Cupcakes
Adapted from Cupcake Bake Shop
Yield: 12 cupcakes
Printable Recipe

1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup milk 
1/4 cup margarine, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a regular muffin/cupcake tin with paper liners; set aside.

Measure out everything but the egg directly into your mixer’s bowl.
Mix on low speed just until incorporated. 
Beat on high speed for 2 minutes.
Add egg; beat on high speed again for 2 minutes.

Measure out batter into cupcake tins (I filled them just over 1/2 full). A 2″ ice cream scoop works great for this (I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup). Bake for about 15-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool slightly in the pan then transfer to a rack to cool completely before frosting.

White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting
Click here for the recipe – I didn’t modify anything

Previous Posts
Search For The Ultimate Birthday Cupcake, Part 1
Search For The Ultimate Birthday Cupcake, Part 2

8 Responses

  1. Ooh! I live for cream cheese frosting, and a lot of other people do, too. In one restaurant I worked at, a man requested a bowl of our cream cheese frosting on his birthday – with a candle in it. Nice job on the cupcakes!

  2. Thanks Marilyn. I’m not sure I’d be eating just a bowl of this frosting, but it’s definitely a keeper.

  3. I’m a total fanatic of cupcakes. I’m practically drooling and spasming as I stare at the photos…

    I really think I should start baking myself. The cupcakes sold in the local bakeries are too soggy.

  4. Zephyrkiwi, I am becoming one as well, can you tell? 🙂
    I say, why not? You may find a recipe or flavor you love. I’ve really come to enjoy baking, especially the end result!

  5. Yummy! These cupcakes look so cute! And cream cheese frosting, oh boy. I have this outrageous recipe for chocolate-drink/Hot Chocolate (like Nesquik) cream cheese frosting. It is so good. If you’re interested, I’ll send it along to you.

  6. Thanks Stephanie! I am more than interested in obtaining any and all fabulous frosting recipes. I’ll shoot you an email.

  7. […] by Susan on Monday, August 11, 2008 And the search is over for […]

  8. […] so I piped some stars around the edges too. You could always make your own.  I almost went with a white chocolate cream cheese frosting, but I barely had time or energy to get this cake […]

Leave a Reply

