The Closer

I’m so happy that the cable stations do summer shows.  Otherwise, I don’t know what I’d do with myself if I had to watch re-runs all summer long.  😛  *Edited to add: OR REALITY SHOWS!

Last night was the season premiere of The Closer.  I didn’t start watching it from the very beginning.  I think I jumped in mid-season 2.  A friend of mine asked me if I watched it and at the time I didn’t.  When she explained what the show was about, I thought to myself, now that sounds like my kind of show.  You know, a cop drama about a woman with authority and strength, traits I wish were stronger in me.  I was a huge fan of Alias…but we can discuss that later.

Anyway, I like the show and the characters, but, sometimes Brenda’s (Kyra Sedgwick) Georgia accent grates on me.  She’s lived in LA for a few years now, can’t we scale it back a little?  Her parents on the show don’t even have accents that strong.

And how does Fritz handle her?  She pretty much controls the relationship, or maybe he just lets her think he does and he just goes and does what he wants anyway?  I’m not sure I understand that dynamic.  Oh well.

Leave a Reply

