Slow Cooker Love – Creamy Chicken Marinara

I first saw this posted on A Year of Crockpotting a while ago and thought, how easy is that?  And why didn’t I think of it before?  I jazz mine up just a tad, because I can. 😛  The best part about this is the frozen chicken.  I usually buy chicken on sale and freeze it, or buy the bags of already frozen chicken.  If you forget to take the chicken out of the freezer the night before, it doesn’t matter.  You can still make this. 

Slow Cooker Creamy Chicken Marinara
Adapted from Lazy Chicken, from A Year of Crockpotting
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
1 small onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
3 boneless skinless chicken thighs*
(hey cool, 1-2-3)
1 bottle of pasta sauce (I used Classico Tomato Basil)
1/4 cup ricotta (I used part skim)
parmesan cheese, to top
noodles

Put all the ingredients, except the ricotta, parmesan and noodles in the slow cooker.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours. * I’ve noticed that chicken breasts tend to dry out and turn out stringy, especially since I have to leave my chicken in for the full 8 hours

When you put the water on to boil, for the noodles, go ahead and mix the ricotta in.  Once the noodles are cooked and drained, the sauce is ready. 

Top with parmesan, or not.  If I had some fresh basil I would have topped it with that as well. 

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for this seriously good timesaver. I love chicken with pasta-great tip to put the ricotta as soon as the water boils. Yum.

  2. Erin, you’re welcome! I’m slowly building up my slow cooker repertoire.
    If you like basil, you should definitely put some in the sauce at the end. Just something fresh to bring it all together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

