Slow Cooker Love – Pork

I had an awesome dinner last night.  I stuck everything in my crock pot before I left for work and voilà, it was ready when I got home from the gym. That’s my kind of dinner.

I didn’t take a picture, because, let’s face it, most things that come out of the slow cooker are not exactly photogenic (ok, there are people out there who can make anything look good.  unfortunately I do not have that talent).  This was no exception.  The taste however?  Delish!

You can probably use chicken, pork or beef with this “recipe”.  I use recipe loosely, as it can be modified so many different ways I’m sure.  What I have noticed though when cooking meals in the slow cooker, the meat comes out better if you use a tougher less expensive cut.  For example, chicken.  Thighs come out much better, consistency-wise than breasts. With pork, I prefer the shoulder, country style ribs or a butt, vs chops.  Beef, same thing, a chuck roast is awesome.  But, that’s to be expected.  All these cuts normally require longer time at a low temperature anyway.

I’m sharing my love of the slow cooker with you today by giving you a recipe for a delicious meal.  I have no name for it and it does take on an asian twist with all the soy sauce. I’m Korean, that’s how I roll.  😉

Slow Cooker Pork
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
3-4 pounds of meat (I used pork style ribs last night, they were on sale this week)
1/2 cup soy sauce (I always use low sodium)
1/4 cup ketchup (I may try chili sauce next time)
1/4 brown sugar (or honey, whichever you prefer)
1 teaspoon ground ginger (you could use fresh)
Veggies (I chopped up a small onion, 2 zucchinis, baby carrots and smashed 4 garlic cloves)

Mix all ingredients together except for the pork and veggies.
Place the pork in the slow cooker and put the veggies on top.
Pour the sauce over the top.
Cook on low for 8 hours.

I served this over some buttery mashed potatoes.  MMMMM…if only MC felt the same way.  He ate a couple bites of mashed potatoes.  Oh well. 

2 Responses

  1. Ha ha, I SO agree with you regarding Crockpot recipes. I really love my crockpot, but EVERYTHING I make seems to look the same. So I never blog it or photograph it.

    Ron

    p.s. my blog is like a week old, so be kind, I’m a newby.

  2. Hi Ron. Thanks for stopping by. I’d be interested in some of those crock pot recipes of yours. I’m always looking for an easy meal.

    BTW, I’m a newbie myself. I’ve only been around for a couple months!

Leave a Reply

