Happy Birthday To Me!

I turn 32 25 for the 7th time today.  😉 After the 1st time the others just kind of flew by. I can’t believe it’s already 2008.  MC turns 2 next month and I haven’t even planned anything.  Not that he’ll remember, but there will be pictures. 

I don’t do much for my birthday, just some dinner and fireworks, you know, the usual.  😛 I enjoyed a double dose this year.  Our nephew (Hub’s older brother’s son) stayed with us for a few days this week. I’m not going to go into it, but that boy (he’ll be 12 at the end of August) is in some serious need of discipline.  He gets his food and sits down and eats before anyone else does.  He’s lazy as can be – all he wanted to do was play video games.  He talks back to us like we’re his grandparents – they let him get away with anything.  I have rules and you better follow them, MR NO SHOWER TAKER!  We had to tell him to take a shower before he took a shower.  Even then, he questioned why.  Um, you just got back in from mowing the yard, that’s why.  And why do you even need a reason?  Just do it!  *SIGH*  At least I’m nephew-less for my birthday.  So nice.

But, I digress.  We took him back to the grandparents house on Wednesday night and brought along a whole mess of fireworks – they live out of city limits.  I think it was about $100 worth.  At dark:30 we lit up the sky.  It was totally awesome.  MC didn’t really enjoy it as much as we thought he would, but I think it’s because it was past his bedtime and he’d been running around all day with his cousins.

Then, last night, the city put on a fireworks show and we were able to watch it in the comfort of our friends’ old Bronco.  It was such a beautiful night, especially for East Texas.  There was a cool breeze coming into the already open air Bronco. 

Preceding the show we had dinner at a local “Asian Bistro” and enjoyed some seaweed salad, edamame ($5 for a handful! That’s crazy I tell ya!) and sushi rolls. Oh, and I can’t forget the $10 pomegranate martini. The food was awesome, but the service was slow.  We are usually served pretty quickly, but apparently the head chef/owner was not there last night and his son was in the kitchen.  Plus, everyone else was trying to eat and catch the show as well.  Oh, and one of my rolls was a Philadelphia roll – salmon, cream cheese & avocado…my roll was missing the cream cheese.  Um, Philly, cream cheese?  Hello?  So, the server took and came back with the same roll, with little pats of cream cheese in between the slices!  Ha!  It was humorous to say the least.

I’d have to say it’s been a pretty good birthday so far.  I’ll let you know if that changes by the end of the day.  We have plans to swim, eat and just chillax.

Have a safe and happy Fourth!

One Response

  1. Happy Belated Birthday! Sorry I missed it, or I would have brought cake. Your baking is all looking delicious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

