Chocolate For Breakfast

double chocolate muffin

Oh yeah!  Who wouldn’t want that for breakfast? 

I was minding my own business, perusing my Google Reader, when a Slashfood post caught my attention.  You pair chocolate with mini muffin tins and who wouldn’t want to check it out, right?  I clicked through to read the recipe and ended up on Marilyn’s blog Simmer Till Done.  I scanned a few more posts because I wanted to see what else this pastry chef had up her sleeve and found out she lives in the town where I went to school a bajillion years ago.  🙂  I miss Lawrence.  I have such fond (ok and not so fond, you dumb football jocks!) memories of KU.

Making mini muffins is an awesome idea because you can eat a few of them and not feel too guilty cuz they’re so small, right?  Right!  I even had a mini muffin tin (or so I thought) and all I needed were some mini muffin cups!

With mini muffin cups in hand, I set out to make these bad boys.  However, I was thwarted by the lack of my muffin tin!  I seriously have no idea what happened to it.  I know I had one, because I made some mini muffins a couple years ago (haha, yes, it’s been a few years since I’ve seen it, so what?). But I was not to be deterred…regular size muffins it was.

Double Chocolate Muffins
Adapted from Simmer Till Done
Yield: 12 regular sized muffins (I ended up with 14)
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 3/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups light brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup chocolate chips (I used Special Dark, which is essentially semi-sweet)
2 large eggs
1 cup buttermilk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
8 tablespoons butter, melted & cooled

granulated sugar for sprinkling (was in the original recipe, but I forgot and left it out)

Preheat the oven to 425 F and line a regular muffin tin with paper liners.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together cocoa, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and chocolate chips. Set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl (I just used a 2-cup measuring cup) whisk together the eggs, buttermilk, and vanilla.

Pour cooled, melted butter and egg mixture into dry ingredients and stir until just well combined.

Scoop the batter into the muffin cups, about 2/3 full.  Sprinkle with an even layer of granulated sugar (oops). Bake muffins for 15-20 minutes (it was more like 20 min in my oven), or until a cake tester inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Watch muffins closely as they can burn slightly around edges if overbaked.

Cool about 5 minutes in the pan then cool slightly on a wire rack before serving.

ENJOY!

One Response

  1. Susan – glad you enjoyed it! There’s a lot of KU in the back posts on my blog; we’re alums, too, and liked Lawrence enough to live here. Take care and I’ll watch for more of your good-looking food posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

