Pink Lady (Strawberry) Cupcakes

A good friend of mine is having a baby girl in October. I am so excited for her! They have been trying for awhile now and it’s finally happening. Plus, GB will have a girlfriend to play with.  I think her husband may have been secretly wishing for a boy, but he is still very excited. :-P He even picked out this cute Ralph Lauren dress for her, to match daddy. He pretty much wears a polo shirt every day.

I’m co-hosting the shower that’s happening on Saturday (22nd) and will be making all the sweet goodies. 36 invites were sent out! I don’t think I’ve made this many sweets by myself at one time. It may not seem like alot, but have you seen my kitchen? Not alot of room to move. Plus, did I tell you?  I have a 3 year old and a 3 month old? ;-) I definitely had to do a little planning to make sure I could get it all done.

pink lady (strawberry) cupcakes

So, the plan for the shower is 3 dozen strawberry cupcakes with strawberry cream cheese frosting, 3 dozen mini petit fours and 3 dozen sparkly pink sugar cookies. I made the sheet cake for the petit fours using  1 ½ portions of the Perfect Party Cake recipe.  This is currently in the freezer waiting to be cut into rounds and covered with a pourable fondant, then decorated with pink dots.  I made the pink lady cupcakes this weekend and they are also in the freezer, waiting to be topped with strawberry cream cheese frosting.  I’m going to make the sugar cookie dough this week, bake them off, then freeze them until Saturday. 

You don’t want to see what my freezer looks like.  I open that door, very carefully these days.  Luckily, I’m using the extra refrigerator in our garage.  Otherwise, I’m not sure where I would have put them.

pink lady (strawberry) cupcakes

The moisture from the cupcakes always seems to seep through the liners and makes them somewhat indistinguishable after they come out of the oven, so I baked my cupcakes with plain white liners. When they’re ready to go, I”ll put them in these cute cupcake liners:
cupcake liner
and the petit fours will go in these cute cups:
bubble stripe liner

I really wanted these:
pink polka liner
and these:
pink stripe liner
but couldn’t find them around here and didn’t want to have to order them online. Oh well.

Luckily the mother-to-be knows I’m not an artist, so no baby booties, or cute little fondant figures or any of that stuff is required. Plus, she’s not very picky either. I did want to make sure there was something I knew she enjoyed, which is how we ended up with the strawberry cupcakes. I scoured my cookbooks and the Net to see if I could find a good recipe. I came across Smitten Kitchen’s Pink Lady Cake post, read it and some of the comments, then decided this was the one.

The method was a bit different than what I’m used to, so I adjusted it to the way I am used to. The cupcakes still turned out nice and fluffy and moist. And the awesome thing about it all? This recipe made exactly 36 cupcakes! Woohoo! Ok, 35, but that’s because I had to taste one of them. I couldn’t just send these along without making sure they were fabulous, right? Oh, and listen to Deb when she tells you NOT TO TASTE THE BATTER! I probably could have made 37 cupcakes had it not been for the batter that somehow mysteriously ended up on my fingers that just had to be licked off!

I also took her suggestion and added just a couple of drops of food coloring to give them a nice bright pink color. I’m was trying to stick to a theme you know: pink, girly and cute!

Pink Lady Cupcakes
Yield: 36
Source: Sky High, as seen on Smitten Kitchen
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
4 ½ cups cake flour
5 ¼ teaspoons baking powder
¾ teaspoon salt
8 egg whites
2/3 cup milk
1 to 2 drops red food coloring
¾ pound unsalted butter, at room temperature
3 cups sugar
1 ½ cups pureed frozen strawberries (you could substitute fresh)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350F. Spray or line 3 cupcake tins; set aside.

In a large bowl whisk the flour, baking powder and salt; set aside.

In a medium bowl whisk the egg whites, milk and food coloring; set aside.

Put the butter and sugar in a large mixer bowl and beat until fluffy. Add the strawberry puree until incorporated – it will look a little curdled.

Add about one-third of the flour mixture and beat until incorporated. Add ½ of the egg mixture and beat until incorporated. Add half of the remaining flour mixture, then ½ of the egg mixture, then the rest of the flour mixture. Make sure to incorporate the ingredients between each mixture and scrape the sides and bottom of your bowl. Pour the batter into the cupcake tins.

Bake the cupcakes for 20-23 minutes or until a cake tester or wooden toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow the cupcakes to cool in the tins for 10 to 15 minutes. Finish cooling on wire racks. Let the cupcakes cool completely before frosting.

signature

In addition to the shower this weekend, my son’s birthday party is on Sunday (23rd)! Yes, I know, it’s late.  My mother says in Korea you can have the party early, but not late, so I’m apparently breaking some sort of rule.  Oops.

I will be posting those cupcakes (cookies & cream) later…much later…cuz I made 2 dozen yesterday and they are sitting in the freezer…and no photos were taken. :-P Besides, I need to make about 2 dozen more. The parents will want some too, right?

3 Responses

  1. NICE STRAWBERRY CUPCAKES! :)

  2. this is just the perfect choice to celebrate the coming of a darling baby girl. it’s also the perfect choice to celebrate the fact that it’s tuesday. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

