Chocolate Caramel Shortbread Bars

Hubby’s brother’s son (aka Nephew), comes down to stay with his dad for about 2 months every summer.  During those 2 months he usually stays with us a few days.  We live far enough away from his dad that it’s kinda cool and he has a little breathing room. I’m sure it doesn’t hurt that hubby has an a few video game systems and our internet speed is a little bit faster. However, from the sounds of it, I’m a stricter “parent” than either of his.  You know, only 1 soda a day, no sweets until after you eat your meals, take a shower, brush your teeth. He’s almost 13, so you can only imagine how he felt about all that. :-P

We saw Nephew this past Christmas and since then he has been ever so subtly asking me to make these bars again. I first made them over a year ago when I saw them on Velvet Lava.  Ann describes these bars as somewhat reminiscent of a Twix bar, which is what caught my attention in the first place.  I’m not sure that’s how I’d explain it, but they are definitely yumilicious.

090707.4 choc carm sb bars

I’m the type of person that enjoys making treats that I know others will enjoy.  And since Nephew was staying with us for a week and I wanted him to be happy…well, you know how it goes.  I thought it would make him happy anyway.  You can never tell with teenagers.  He didn’t say a word about the fact that I made them for him, but gobbled them up nonetheless. 

090707.2 choc carm sb bars

I don’t think I allowed my caramel layer to cook long enough.  The color was pale, but not a pale caramel.  :-P  It was still a bit soft even after I let them set in the refrigerator, so make sure you get to the right color stage AND don’t make that layer too thick. I’d originally wanted to swirl my white chocolate and semisweet chocolate on top, but my white chocolate wasn’t loose enough for me to do that.  I may try to add a little butter or shortening next time to loosen it up.

Chocolate Caramel Shortbread Bars
Yield: 32 rectangles
Adapted From Velvet Lava
Printable Recipe

Shortbread Ingredients:
1 ¼ cups all purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
¼ pound unsalted butter, diced
¼ cup sugar

Caramel Ingredients:
¼ pound butter
½ cup light brown sugar
1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk

Chocolate Ingredients:
6 ounces semisweet chocolate
6 ounces white chocolate

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325F.

In a food processer, pulse the flour, cornstarch, ¼ pound butter and sugar until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Turn out into an 8×8 pan. Pat the mixture down into the pan and smooth the surface. Prick the bottom of dough with a fork and bake for 30-35 minutes until pale golden. Cool on a wire rack.

Place ¼ pound butter and brown sugar in saucepan over low heat until melted. Add sweetened condensed milk and bring slowly to a boil, stirring continuously until the mixture turns a pale caramel color, about 3-4 minutes.

Pour caramel over top of cooled shortbread – do not overfill the pan (about ½ inch); if this layer becomes overly thick, it will not set properly. Chill in fridge for 1 hour or until set.

Once the caramel layer is set, melt the semi-sweet and white chocolate in double boiler. Allow the chocolate to cool before pouring over the caramel topping. Chill in the fridge until set.

Allow the bars to come to room temperature before cutting.

signature

8 Responses

  1. oh I love these . The re so good! I m drooling.

  2. regardless of the intended color, there’s no way these wouldn’t be good. well, i suppose if they had been sprayed by a skunk or something, they wouldn’t be so good, but you know what i mean. :)

  3. Mmmm, I love these. I usually like to make my caramel a little darker too.

    My grandma used to make these and they have to be my alltime favourite dessert/snack! We often call them millionaires shortbread in the UK.

  4. These are one of my absolute favourite things to eat – I’d definitely come round to your house if these were in the offing! In fact…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

