The “Baked” Brownie

A very facetious friend of mine made this comment to me: “I may not know alot about cooking, but aren’t all brownies baked?”  Har-dee-har-har. Yes, they’re all baked, but this one is THE “Baked” brownie. Not a baked brownie. :-P

"baked" brownie

I hope everyone out there had a great Independence Day with alot of great food and some fantastic fireworks.  I know a couple of you celebrated your birthdays too!  I enjoyed a nice relaxing day with some good friends, good food and some brownies!

"baked" brownie

I have a friend who loves brownies and is always asking me to make him some. He even offered to bring me the supplies. :-P I don’t think he really meant it, but it’s nice that he offered. I’ve been meaning to try out this brownie recipe and since he was going to be participating in the 4th festivities, I thought I’d give it a go.

"baked" brownie

Since I was going to be using semi-sweet chocolate (instead of the bittersweet the recipe calls for), I decided to cut down on the amount of white granulated sugar in the recipe. I don’t think that affected the outcome of the brownies, which were very good by the way. I can’t say they were my favorite, but they’re probably near the top of my short list. I think we polished off a good 2/3 of the pan that night. I think my nephew, who’s staying with us for a week, polished off ½ of the leftovers.

The Baked Brownie
Yield: 24 brownies
Adapted from Baked New Frontiers in Baking
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
11 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, chopped
½ pound butter, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 teaspoon instant coffee granules
1 cup granulated sugar
½ cup light brown sugar
5 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350F. Spray the sides and bottom of 9×13 baking pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, salt and cocoa powder together.

Put the chocolate, butter and instant coffee in a large bowl and set it over a saucepan of simmering water, stirring occasionally, until the chocolate and butter are completely melted and smooth. Turn off the heat, but keep the bowl over the water and add the sugars. Whisk until completely combined; then remove the bowl from the pan. The mixture should be room temperature.

Add 3 eggs to the chocolate mixture and whisk until combined. Add the remaining eggs and whisk until combined. Add the vanilla and stir until combined. Do not overbeat the batter at this stage or your brownies will be cakey.

Sprinkle the flour mixture over the chocolate mixture. Using a spatula, fold the flour mixture into the chocolate until just a bit of the flour mixture is visible.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top. Bake in the center of the oven for 30 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through the baking time, until a toothpick inserted into the center of the brownies comes out with a few moist crumbs sticking to it. Let the brownies cool completely, then cut them into squares and serve.

signature

5 Responses

  1. Yumm sounds delicious. I’ll have to try them some day
    <3 Shelbie M Moore
    -Visit my blog at http://www.ShelbieMMoore.wordpress.com

  2. these brownies look so good! I have to give them a try.

  3. the fact of the matter is that i haven’t met a brownie i couldn’t choke down. these look particularly appealing, though–i like the cakeish-yet-still-fudgy quality of them. :)

  4. Great brownies! I love baking for friends too! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

