Patriotic Sugar Cookies

patriotic cookies

I love the 4th of July.  Not just because it’s America’s Independence Day and everyone shoots off fireworks, but because it’s my birthday and those fireworks are for me too!  Ok, maybe not, but I like to think so. 

I’ll be 25 for the 8th time this year.  Haha.  I know 33 isn’t that old, but dang these years sure are flying by!  I need to savor them while I can.  Next thing you know, my kiddos will be all grown up and out the door.  I can say that right now, since both of them are napping and I’m enjoying my quiet “me” time.  I’ve forgotten all about last night and GB’s 5 hour non-sleeping, wanting to be held until 1:30am session. But, she does make it easy to forget, doesn’t she?

peek a boo bathtime

It’s gotten to the point where I don’t really care so much about celebrating my birthday.  As long as a few key people remember and wish me a happy birthday, I’m good. And if someone wants to give me an hour or two to myself to be pampered, ie: get a massage, I’m ok with that too. :-P

I’ve been sending MC to school on M-W-F’s, but due to the upcoming holiday, they’ll be closed on Friday and having their class parties on Thursday.  The director said it was fine if I let MC go to school on Thursday to celebrate with all the kids. He wouldn’t know what he was missing if he didn’t go, but I’d like it if he was able to be involved. 

patriotic cookies

Anyway, there is always a sign-up sheet, so each family can contribute to the party.  The teachers really loved the snickerdoodles I made for them last week so much that they wanted me to bring them again.  I went ahead and made a batch and added red & blue icing colors (works much better than food coloring and you use alot less) to the dough, to give them a patriotic look.  I think next time I’d like to make them a bit darker.

patriotic cookies

I didn’t want to be boring and bring the same thing again, so I made some easy sugar cookies too. I rolled them in colored sanding sugars to give them their patriotic look; some in red, some in blue and some in pickle color too (Dr Seuss anyone?) Just kidding! Some were in red/white/blue.  You can’t really see the white sugar, since it’s not the same consistency as the red and blue.  Oh well, it was worth a shot. I didn’t want to make some with just white sugar, because that would just be boring. :-P  Plus children always want the ones that are bright and colorful, right? 

patriotic cookies

Patriotic Sugar Cookies
Yield: 3 dozen
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
3 cups flour
¾ teaspoon baking soda
¾ teaspoon cream of tartar
¾ teaspoons salt
¾ cup butter
¾ cup sugar
¾ cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 ½ teaspoons vanilla

Red & blue colored sanding sugar

Directions:
In a medium size bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, cream of tartar and salt together; set aside.

Cream the butter and sugars until fluffy. Mix in the eggs and vanilla until incorporated. On the low setting of your mixer (stand or hand), add in ½ of the flour mixture. After the flour has been incorporated, add the other half of the flour mixture.

Wrap the cookie dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

To Bake:
Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Scoop cookies using a small cookie scoop (or pull apart enough dough to make about a 1 inch ball). Roll in white sugar or blue or red sanding sugar. Place cookies two inches apart on baking sheet and slightly flatten them. Bake for approximately 10 minutes.

signature

10 Responses

  1. Yay for 33! Celebrate however you want!

  2. those are so festive!!! So sweet of you to sign up!

  3. “I’ll be 25 for the 8th time this year.” ha–that one earned a chuckle. :)
    great cookies for the holiday, susan. for any day, really.

  4. Those are sweet and sparkly.

  5. Great looking cookies

    Thank you for sharing!

  6. This is a delicious looking treat. What a great idea! We had beautiful fireworks in our area. Happy 4th!

  7. seems delicious but the sugar in them scares me completely.do you have some with low sugar content.

  8. [...] the freezer, waiting to be topped with strawberry cream cheese frosting.  The plan is to make the sugar cookie dough this week, bake them off, then freeze them until [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

