Not So Sneaky Susan

When my family came to town last week they brought with them two boxes of fruit.  One box of mangoes and one box of chameh.  I love mangoes, I just don’t have luck buying them.  They’re either not ripe or over ripe and fuzzy.  If you’ve ever felt that texture in your mouth, you know it’s very unpleasant.

I have about four or five chameh melons left and really have nothing to do with them, but eat them.  However, I’m the only one in my family of 3 that like them. I’m going to have to see if anyone at work has an adventurous fruit palate.  Nothing really to be adventurous about, but it’s something people around these parts have probably never seen.  And you don’t have to eat the seeds, but you can.  That’s how I eat it anyway.  Less work the better, you know? 

This was the first time MC has tried mangoes.  He seemed to enjoy it because he was shoveling it into his mouth while the juice was dripping down his chin.  I wish I’d gotten a picture of that.  It was a sight. But, as unpredictable as most toddlers are, he didn’t want anything to do with them after that.

No worries though.  I snuck them in…I made muffins. JUMBO muffins.  JUMBO Mango Muffins.  :-)  I have one or two more mangoes left and I’m trying to decide the best use for them.  Cake? Sorbet? Sauce? Chutney – I’ve never made a chutney…Salsa?  Ideas are endless!  Suggestions?????

I was inspired by Get Baked’s Mango Raspberry Lawsuit Muffins. I say inspired because I liked the idea of mangoes in my muffins, but not the raspberries.  I’ve never really been a fan.  I enjoy strawberries and even the occasional blackberry, but for some reason, me and raspberries have never been friends. So, I doubled up on the mango and since I have no citrus fruits in the house (what?!), I had to omit that.  It was still good. During my search I saw some recipes that called for bananas with mangoes, but I was not only banana-less, but banana’d out, so applesauce it was.  I was trying to go for a similar consistency.  Yes, it was a little runny, but I mixed it in with the sugar & oil and it was fine.  I was determined to make these without making a trip to the grocery store!  I’m on a budget now people. :-P Did I mention I was out of buttermilk? *sigh* Milk & vinegar it was.

I personally loved the chunkiness of the mangoes, but I think next time I would make a puree and add it to the batter, as well as add chunks of mangoes. That way the mango flavor comes out in the whole muffin.

mango muffins

mango muffins
mmmm, streusel

Mango Muffins
Yield: 6 jumbo muffins
Adapted from Mango Raspberry Lawsuit Muffins, from Get Baked
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
½ cup vegetable oil
¼ cup applesauce
¾ cup brown sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup milk + 1 tablespoon vinegar
¾ cup whole wheat flour
2 cups all purpose flour
¼ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups chopped mango

Streusel Topping
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1/3 cup brown sugar
½ teaspoons cinnamon
¼ cup chopped walnuts

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400F. Line a jumbo muffin tin with paper liners; set aside.

Combine oil, applesauce and brown sugar together in a large bowl. Whisk in egg, vanilla and buttermilk.

In a separate bowl, combine the flours, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add to wet mixture and gently fold together with mango.

Generously fill 6 jumbo muffin cups (I filled mine to the top). Sprinkle with streusel topping (just mix all ingredients together in a small bowl).

Bake for 20 minutes at 400F, then lower the temperature to 350F and bake for an additional 15 minutes or so.

2 Responses

  1. Very pretty pics! The puree might be a good idea because mango puree can add moisture to your baked goods as well.

    We love raspberries, so I might just try this one with both :)

  2. Thanks for the compliment. I’m still learning how to use my camera.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

